Series Qualifications

NUE = Long Bike Races in the Dirt

In an effort to elevate the sport of ultra-endurance Mountain Biking to the national stage, The National Ultra Endurance Series was born in 2006.

The NUE Series is dedicated to providing a level playing field for ALL, Professionals and Amateurs alike! No USAC or any other license is required

 TOP THREE RACES NEEDED to Qualify for series awards!

The NUE Series will recognize and award ALL NUE Series finishers and National Series Champions within the following four divisions: Your RACE AGE is determined as what your age will be as of December 31 of the current race season.

  • Men’s Open ( ages 14-99 declaring open)
  • Women’s Open( ages 14-99 declaring open)
  • Singlespeed ( Men and Women 14-99 pn a one gear bike, declaring SS)
  • Masters Men 50+  ( Men 50-99)
  • Masters Women 50+ ( Women 50-99)

Eligibility: To become eligible for National Series rankings and rewards, racers need only complete THREE events to receive a national ranking and qualify for series awards. You can enter as many events as you like, allowing racers to improve their ranking throughout the season. Your top three completed races will qualify you for a national ranking and series awards courtesy of NUE Series sponsors. Lowest points within your top three completed races will earn an NUE division title, cash awards, and complimentary entry into all races for next year’s race season. DNF’s do not count.

Scoring: Racers earn points towards the series based on their placing within their chosen NUE division. Racers are not allowed to transfer points from one division to another. Racers will earn points as follows: One point for first place, two points for second place, three for third place, etc. The racer with the lowest overall points, within their division, will be declared the National Ultra Endurance Series Champion with cash and prizes awarded at the final race.

Ties: All ties will be broken at the final event. The tie-breaking event will be held at the Big Bear Grizzly in Big Bear Lake, California. However, racers are not required to enter the tie-breaking event to become eligible for series awards, provided at least three races have been completed. Awards will be mailed to racers who cannot attend the tie-breaking event. All NUE races are weighted equally meaning it is possible to improve your score at the final race AND break the resulting tie in the process. For example: if a racer finishes the final race having already completed two NUE races and that new score results in a tie, the tie is also broken at the race. For example, if a racer has completed three races but improves their top three scores at the final race, resulting in a tie, that tie will be broken at the final race as well.